Tuesday, July 30, 2013

Better late than never...

I just read my last post, and in the final paragraph I mention that it was likely I'd have a one year old by next post. Well, label me a psychic, because I have a one year old! Addison Kate Johnson turned one two weeks ago! I thought I'd put a little bit of her birth story up for those of you interested. It is a true testament of God's perfect timing! Wednesday, July 11- Wes and I went on a date to the movies (Spiderman, I believe). My pregnant self pigged out on popcorn. I fell asleep half way through. All was right with the world. That evening I started to realize my normally wiggly baby had not wiggled in a while. I told myself I was being paranoid, but continued to pay extra close attention to her movement. When we went to bed (when she normally became her wiggliest) she remained still. I poked and prodded, then eventually got up to eat some chocolate (which I did a ton) and drink some caffeine (which I never did). An hour passed and still, nothing. I fell to pieces and called my doctor. The nurse snippily asked me if I was a first time mom, then reluctantly advised me to go to the hospital for monitoring. Wes and I drove to St. Vincent's, and I had never been more relieved when the (nicer) nurse hooked me to that monitor and I heard that heartbeat loud and clear. They did something called a non-stress test where the look for 5 accelerations of the heart rate within 15 minutes. It took several hours for Addy to pass, but she finally did. Just as the nurse came in to take me off the monitor, I had something called a late deceleration (which means I had a contraction, and Addy's heart rate dropped after the contraction was over...this is bad news because it signals the baby is not getting enough oxygen). The nurse stopped, watched the monitor, and notified the doctor. This bought me/Addy several more hours of monitoring, and biophysical profile, and a couple more unpleasant tests (see: fetal stress test). By 1:00pm Thursday, the doctors felt comfortable releasing me with plans to bring me in for monitoring every other day. Wes and I felt sure they wouldn't send me home unless they were sure they were find, so off we went. Saturday, July 14- I went in to work, then left around 10am to go to St. Vincent's for more fetal monitoring. Addy's heart rate looked good and I/Addy passed another FST. I was only dilated about 1 cm, so Dr. Edward's predicted it'd be another week or two before Addy showed her face. Wes and I quickly ate lunch and I returned to work. I felt a few movements from Addy throughout the day, but nothing like I had in the past... Sunday, July 15- Mom and Dad came up and we worked on getting things ready for Addy's arrival. They brought the dresser and the bassinet. Everything was coming together! We washed some of Addy's clothes, and I made a list of things (like diapers, nursing bras, cute PJ's for after delivery) to go buy after my doctors appointment the next morning. Monday, July 15- 8:15 am: I arrived at Henderson and Walton (running late, shocker), for my NST. They forced some coke down my throat, hooked me to a monitor, and gave me a little button to press every time I felt fetal movement. Thirty minutes and barely any movement later (I think the two times I pressed the button were actually just tummy rumblings), the tech came back in and said "well, we'll leave you on a few more minutes" (i.e. you failed!). 30 more minutes passed, and no more movement. They sent me over to see the doctor. Dr. Edwards walked in and pulled up the strip. He did not like what he saw. That's when he told me I wouldn't be leaving the building pregnant. I called Wes to tell him to come to the hospital as I walked down to the labor and delivery floor. I told him not to worry and take his time, because I thought they'd be monitoring me for a while and if anything, just giving me Pitocin to get things started. When I got on the floor a super sweet (and also super pregnant!) nurse walked me to my room, got me in a gown, and started my IV. I called my mom to give her an update and let her know they might want to start getting ready to head back to Birmingham. A few minutes later, my nurse came in and put an oxygen mask on my face (uh-oh, I thought) then an older, more experienced nurse came in, handed me my phone, and told me to "call who I need to call", because they were about to section me. I called Wes and told him to HURRY! (He was on his way to drop the dog off at doggy daycare), then called my mom and told her Addison would be here by the time they made it to Birmingham! Noon: A swarm of what seemed like 50 nurses surrounded me attaching me to this and unattaching me from that. They literally ran me down the hall to the OR. In hindsight, I should have been freaking out. But I had a peace that only the Lord could have given me. They loaded me on to the operating table as the MDA came in to do my spinal block. I was so nervous about the block, but it didn't hurt at all! Just before they cut Wes made it! I was so relieved to see him walk through that door! 12:37pm: Addison Kate Johnson was born! She had tons of hair and was white as can be. She made one little cry (I think that was God's way of letting me know she was still alive), but was extremely limp. The NNP brought her over so I could meet her, and I was so in love, but also very worried. She told me they were going to take her to the NICU to do a good exam on her and make sure everything was ok. The hours that followed: Turns out, her HCT was 10. Yep, TEN. (It should've been in the fifties). All I could do was cry and pray for my sweet baby when they called and consented Wes for transfusions and told him they might have to intubate. Thankfully, they did not intubate, and three transfusions later, Addy was stable. After some investigation, they determined we had experienced a maternal/fetal transfusion...Addy was essentially bleeding out into my bloodstream. Addy ended up spending 10 long days in the NICU with a few "hiccups" along the way, but she made it home to us safe and sound. We had some wonderful doctors and nurses, and I am so thankful for modern medicine, but to God be the glory! HE alone saved her life! We are so thankful for our precious ONE YEAR OLD!

Tuesday, May 15, 2012

Baby girls and graduation.

Side note: This was arranged into neat little bullet points...but for some reason when I publish it everything runs together into one paragraph. I'm not computer savvy enough to fix it. Oh well. Update time... We're having a little GIRL! Addison Kate Johnson. I absolutely cannot wait to see her. And hold her. And rock her. And see Wes hold her. I'm so in love already. And I love the fact that she's kicking my insides as I write ;) I'm pretty much huge. I've got quite the baby bump, and I've gotten a little fat in the face as well. I'm ok with it though. It's a sign Addison's healthy. And it WILL come back off (I promise, Wes). I finished school [for now]. I got a job at Children's of Alabama (formerly known as Children's Health System, formerly known as Children's Hospital)- start June 4 assuming my temp. license is approved by then. Wes and I have moved in on my grandparents in Gadsden for the month of May so Wes can do his very first surgical rotation at the hospital here. I'm so proud of him, his work ethic, and his thirst for knowledge. We're still in our one bedroom and have not yet determined when we'll move it on up. I checked rent prices on two bedrooms where we are now, and they've gone up nearly $200 since last month...yay. Looks like Addy may be sleeping in the living room for a while. Addison has a crib and a dresser! Her "nursery corner" is going to be beautiful. My baby brother graduates from high school this weekend. Weird. On top of that, he's moving nearly 5 hours away from me to the University of South Alabama. I'm thrilled for him, but a little sad he won't be in Montgomery every time I visit. Reality: My parents will officially become empty nesters AND grandparents this summer...and they're only in their mid-forties! Wes is predicting they'll both be driving Harleys by Christmas ;) I guess that's all the major news. I shall try to be more diligent in updating...at the rate I'm going I'll have a one year old next time I write.

Sunday, March 4, 2012

Baby and a One Bedroom

I've decided to try the blogging thing once again. It's going to have a new spin, because our life has a new spin on it: a baby! Our Lil' One is due July 28, and we are very excited! Despite the morning sickness that has persisted well into my second trimester, I am loving being pregnant!

Now, we didn't put a whole lot of planning into this baby coming along, so our lease will be up exactly 2 days before my due date. That means we have three options:
1. Buy out of our lease early and move to a two bedroom (if you know how cheap we are...hell-o, Wes (the hubs) is in grad school...you know that's not happening).
2. Move the week the babies due, meaning I'll either be huge or tired/sore/cranky from giving birth.
3. We stay put and make due in our tiny little apartment with a third tiny little person.

Well, we've decided to go with numero tres. It just makes the most since for us right now. With that being said, there is a ToN I want to get done in our little home before Baby Johnson makes his/her appearance. I thought I'd use this post to itemize a few projects I plan to get started over the next few months as I work to improve our love nest. And hopefully in the process I'll inspire some others, too!

#1: I'm loving this DIY burlap headboard. Burlap may just be my new favorite fabric. I'm planning on copying this one next week (yay for working 7 on/7 off...especially when it's the 7 off week). I just found today and she's got some great little DIY projects going.



#2: I'm really wanting to do something new with my [very narrow] foyer. Keep in mind we won't be here much longer, so I want it to be portable. I'm thinking a little console table with some great framed photography over it?

I like the idea of this coatrack- maybe then I could get Wes to stop throwing his lab coat over the dining room and living room chairs all willy nilly.


I like the simplicity of this foyer (i.e. a creatively handicapped person such as myself might could actually accomplish this).



#3: Bookshelves on either side of our bed.

Kind of like this:

Source: google.com via Emily on Pinterest



I'm thinking cheap Target bookshelves with this DIY twist:


#4 A sleeper sofa- my mom and dad will need somewhere to sleep when they come to rescue us from our sleep deprived insanity help out.

#5 Our little nursery corner...but that's a whole blog (or 2, or 10) in itself.

That's just a peak into a few of the things I want to accomplish around here in the next 4 months. I'm saying this knowing that some of it will not happen, but I can set goals, right? Next blog: All about baby!

Wednesday, June 22, 2011

Rain, rain...

It's rainy day in Birmingham; ergo, I haven't done much other than a few loads of laundry and searching for decorating ideas. I have a paper due next week, but if you know me at all or have ever read this blog, you know that writing a paper a week early is tuh-otally not me. So, I decided I'd "blog". This episode will be a two parter: one part beach trip (cont'd), and one part home inspiration. I know. You're excited.

Here goes.

I promised in my last blog that I'd post some of mom's pictures once I got them, so get ready, here they come. Way better than my pics.

Can you tell we were a little obsessed with the dolphins? So glad mom was able to get pics of something other than the dorsal fin!

Nothing better than sunset at the beach. Beautiful pic curtesy of Peggers.

J'adore this pic. Totally framing this one once I buy my beach house...might frame it before then too. There's something so whimsical about those dumb birds. Lurve.

You can see the little baby fin beside one of them...so sweet.

Ahh, I love boat life...

Wesley's Robin Fish...Ug-A-ly.

FINALLY proof that mom was there!

Ahh, crystal clear bay.

Dad: [Body half way off the side of the boat]: Ahh!
Family: WHAT!? Are you ok?
Dad: Wait...wait...
Family: What? What's wrong?
Dad: Ah, crap, dang it...
Family: WHAT!?
Dad: Finally gets back up to show us what all the commotion was about. This:
Yep, a quarter sized crab. He may look cute, but that think had some serious Napoleon complex goin' on. Feisty lil' thing.

I caught a fish! I was excited. [No, my lips did not actually touch the fish.]




Hottieee...

They let me drive!

The fam (minus mom, the photog/paparazzo...love you mom) at Gilligan's, our FAVORITIST restaurant EVA. Soo yummy. The shrimp is my favorite in Destin, and the rest of the family drools over their crab legs (they have the biggest portions for the best price AND best taste...doesn't get any better than that)...

...and the view is fantastic.

After Gilligans, we made our way back to Big Kahuna's (the "kids" had spent our day at the water park), where these 3 Evil Kanevils decided to ride the "Sky Coaster"...


Then Wes and Sydney rode the "Cyclone"...


Sydney convinced Dean to ride, too. {Wes begged me to ride with him. I politely but firmly declined. As a self proclaimed type-A control freak, such rides take me WAY too far out of control...just sayin'}

A couple more:


Ok, so I got a little picture happy. Thanks for the pics, Mom =)

On to part deux: Apartment Inspiration.

In love. I'm strongly considering copy-catting this one. Mine obviously won't be as fancy, but I've got a decent plan...

I like this one because it brings in the greens...

A slightly more classic take. LOVE the big mirror.

This one's so colorful and whimsical. Probably a little bolder than I'm willing to try, but I still love it.

Those are just a few pics I'm looking to for inspiration. I also need to make some curtains and throw pillows. Considering I'm extremely un-creative, that should be interesting. It's a long slow process, but I'll get there...then I'll get tired of it and re-do everything, such is life, haha.

One last thing. Remember Jeep? This is him now:
With long hair...

And with short hair...
...just 'cause he weighs (<--- I originally spelled that "ways"...how embarrassing.) 60 L-Bs doesn't mean he's not a lap dog...

Later.

Monday, June 13, 2011

Family Vaca Post Numero Uno

Is it sad that I started this blog over year ago, but I only have 3 posts? Maybe. Or maybe it's a sign that I have a life! (Nahh.)

I should be studying for the old people test that I have tomorrow (the school of nursing was oh so kind enough to allow us to study the inner workings of the elderly all. summer. long.). Instead, I've now checked my facebook about 30 times, logged on to twitter a handful of times, and now I'm "blogging" (is it just me, or is that a weird word?). Let's all wave to that "A" I swore to myself I'd be getting this summer.

The thing is, it's just wrong to go to school in the summer. Especially when you just got back from the beach. Here's a few of the highlights:

We actually got to go with my whole fam this year. I was SO excited, because I hadn't been on the family "vaca" {I get made fun of for calling it that...don't care} in 2 years because of work and school. I wish I could say I had a fabulous family photo to insert here, but my family's not that organized.

We headed straight to the beach once we got to the condo

{Love this place. Excuse the poor photography.}

Just because we didn't want to be a boring family, we decided to have a near drowning incident {everyone should try it to add a little excitement in their lives}. Seriously, My family nearly ceased to exist {Note to self: don't swim past the sand bar when the rip tide is really bad no matter how good of a swimmer you think you are...especially if "someonewhoshallremainnameless" in your group is prone to panicing}. Thankfully, we all made it to live another day. Let's just say I won't be rolling my eyes next time madre tells me to be careful cause there's a yellow flag.

After the incident things settled down. We spent a lot of time on the beach, and took a boat out on the bay for a day (definitely my favorite part of the trip). I have definitely decided I could live in the middle of the ocean. New life goal: owning a boat. We fished, we swam at crab "island", we chased dolphins (I came so close to jumping in with them). It was a great day.

They were so pretty. And we saw TONS of them. My mom's pictures are way better (her camera's fancier and she's a better photog), but I'm still waiting on her to email them to me.

(

Wesley caught the first fish of the day. He's in total agreement with the moving onto a boat thing.


My dad-our captain- He'll be right there beside me when I buy my boat. I think he'd move his hunting boat out on the ocean if he could.

Unfortunately, my camera died on the boat, so the rest of the trip's pictures were left up to mom. She got some great ones...I just have to get them from her. Her pictures include the fish I caught (woop woop), shopping, pre Big Kahuna's pics, and pictures of Dean, Syd (that's Dean's girlfriend, who we LOVE), and Wes on the skycoaster and cyclone<--yeah, I'm a wimp, I didn't ride. Feel free to mock me. Oh, forgot to plug my new favorite restaurant in Destin: Gilligan's. It's SO delicious and has fantastic prices. It doesn't look like much from the outside, but they've got great deck seating over the bay, great service, and great food. It's my family's favorite kind of beach dining: simple and tastey. I highly recommend it if you haven't already tried it. Pictures of us eating there will be posted when I get them. I do have pictures of us at one of our other favs: the Back Porch:


LOVE them! I truly have the BEST parents in the world.


They might like each other a little... {sarcasm}


In light of the incident, we decided everyone should have life vests. Wes chose Disney Princesses.


If you're looking for a model...


Oh yes, I now have black hair. Hated it at first...but it's growing on me.

So, what's the moral of this blog? Everyone should have family like mine. God's blessed me beyond description by giving me such a great relationship with these people. And what a great vacation it was. So great that I'll post on it again when I have more pictures. I know, I know, my millions four followers can't wait. ;)

P.S. GREAT news! I'm buying a house at the beach! Here's a little sneaky peak:

Gasp.




Feel free to wipe up the puddle of drool at any point...


I'm not quite sure HOW I'm going to buy it just yet. I'll probably start with the lottery, and if that doesn't pan out, I guess I'll just have to rob a bank...or two.

Ok, that's really all. For now. Time to study. Or maybe clean. Whatever.