Monday, June 13, 2011

Family Vaca Post Numero Uno

Is it sad that I started this blog over year ago, but I only have 3 posts? Maybe. Or maybe it's a sign that I have a life! (Nahh.)

I should be studying for the old people test that I have tomorrow (the school of nursing was oh so kind enough to allow us to study the inner workings of the elderly all. summer. long.). Instead, I've now checked my facebook about 30 times, logged on to twitter a handful of times, and now I'm "blogging" (is it just me, or is that a weird word?). Let's all wave to that "A" I swore to myself I'd be getting this summer.

The thing is, it's just wrong to go to school in the summer. Especially when you just got back from the beach. Here's a few of the highlights:

We actually got to go with my whole fam this year. I was SO excited, because I hadn't been on the family "vaca" {I get made fun of for calling it that...don't care} in 2 years because of work and school. I wish I could say I had a fabulous family photo to insert here, but my family's not that organized.

We headed straight to the beach once we got to the condo

{Love this place. Excuse the poor photography.}

Just because we didn't want to be a boring family, we decided to have a near drowning incident {everyone should try it to add a little excitement in their lives}. Seriously, My family nearly ceased to exist {Note to self: don't swim past the sand bar when the rip tide is really bad no matter how good of a swimmer you think you are...especially if "someonewhoshallremainnameless" in your group is prone to panicing}. Thankfully, we all made it to live another day. Let's just say I won't be rolling my eyes next time madre tells me to be careful cause there's a yellow flag.

After the incident things settled down. We spent a lot of time on the beach, and took a boat out on the bay for a day (definitely my favorite part of the trip). I have definitely decided I could live in the middle of the ocean. New life goal: owning a boat. We fished, we swam at crab "island", we chased dolphins (I came so close to jumping in with them). It was a great day.

They were so pretty. And we saw TONS of them. My mom's pictures are way better (her camera's fancier and she's a better photog), but I'm still waiting on her to email them to me.

(

Wesley caught the first fish of the day. He's in total agreement with the moving onto a boat thing.


My dad-our captain- He'll be right there beside me when I buy my boat. I think he'd move his hunting boat out on the ocean if he could.

Unfortunately, my camera died on the boat, so the rest of the trip's pictures were left up to mom. She got some great ones...I just have to get them from her. Her pictures include the fish I caught (woop woop), shopping, pre Big Kahuna's pics, and pictures of Dean, Syd (that's Dean's girlfriend, who we LOVE), and Wes on the skycoaster and cyclone<--yeah, I'm a wimp, I didn't ride. Feel free to mock me. Oh, forgot to plug my new favorite restaurant in Destin: Gilligan's. It's SO delicious and has fantastic prices. It doesn't look like much from the outside, but they've got great deck seating over the bay, great service, and great food. It's my family's favorite kind of beach dining: simple and tastey. I highly recommend it if you haven't already tried it. Pictures of us eating there will be posted when I get them. I do have pictures of us at one of our other favs: the Back Porch:


LOVE them! I truly have the BEST parents in the world.


They might like each other a little... {sarcasm}


In light of the incident, we decided everyone should have life vests. Wes chose Disney Princesses.


If you're looking for a model...


Oh yes, I now have black hair. Hated it at first...but it's growing on me.

So, what's the moral of this blog? Everyone should have family like mine. God's blessed me beyond description by giving me such a great relationship with these people. And what a great vacation it was. So great that I'll post on it again when I have more pictures. I know, I know, my millions four followers can't wait. ;)

P.S. GREAT news! I'm buying a house at the beach! Here's a little sneaky peak:

Gasp.




Feel free to wipe up the puddle of drool at any point...


I'm not quite sure HOW I'm going to buy it just yet. I'll probably start with the lottery, and if that doesn't pan out, I guess I'll just have to rob a bank...or two.

Ok, that's really all. For now. Time to study. Or maybe clean. Whatever.

1 comment: